2022-23 Call for Nominations


The Morgan Fellowship is available to extraordinary doctoral students/candidates in any of the following programs: Anthropology, Communication, History, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy, Psychology, or Sociology. Nominees will be selected for the fellowship based on their plans to use humanistic methods to illuminate the culture and context of pressing societal problems. Because it is intended as a mark of distinction, the fellowship must be over and above the financial support offered to the student by their graduate program. The nomination letter must include details of the student’s graduate program support package. 

Up to two (2) $5,000 Judith and Neil Morgan Endowed Fellowships will be awarded for 2022-23.

The successful candidate will be expected to attend all Judith and Neil Morgan Endowed Fellowship events (an annual dinner with the donor), and provide a written update on the use and impact of funds from the fellowship. The candidate will also be expected to write an initial thank you/introduction letter. We recognize that the current public health situation due to COVID-19 may alter these arrangements and we will work with selected students and the donors to identify safe alternate options as needed.



If you have any questions please send an email to gradadvisor@ucsd.edu which will create a ticket in the Services & Support portal.


Nominations are due by Wednesday, May 18, 2022. We will announce selected awardees shortly thereafter by posting their names/departments below.

Please submit nominations via this Google Form: https://forms.gle/E7wURS8XvSprs68J6

If you have any questions please send an email to gradadvisor@ucsd.edu which will create a support ticket.

Past Recipients

Year of AwardRecipient NameAcademic Home Department
2021-22Morgen ChalmiersAnthropology
2021-22Jiaqi LiuSociology
2020-21Christina AushanaCommunication
2020-21Melina EconomouAnthropology
2019-20Rebecca C. FranklinSociology
2019-20Rachel FoxCommunication
2018-19Cory DaviaPhilosophy
2018-19Haley McInnisSociology

Teresa Walch

2017-18Edward RandolphCommunication
2016-17Erica BenderSociology
2016-17Edward RandolphCommunication
2015-16Kathryn JoycePhilosophy