This application is currently closed for the 2020-2021 academic year, all recipients have been notified and an email was sent to the Graduate Coordinators and Graduate Chair listservs. See the Results 2020 section below for a full list of recipients. 

Please note that the information provided in this call for nominations is subject to change. We are currently finalizing workflow processes in Slate among other details. However, this opportunity is being offered this year, each department may nominate two prospective students, and our goal is to award five prizes. We appreciate your patience and will provide complete information as soon as it becomes available.

On behalf of Graduate Division Dean James Antony, I am writing to request nominations for the Katzin Prize.  The Katzin Prize will be used as a recruitment tool to attract the top academic doctoral candidates applying to UC San Diego. The cohort will be a select group of scholars, demonstrating outstanding talent and promise.  Over time, the Katzin Prize will be awarded to students who represent the full spectrum of graduate study at UC San Diego, from the fine arts to the physical sciences.




Each eligible predoctoral graduate program may nominate two qualified students. Use Slate to nominate your students for the Katzin Prize. The following items are required for a complete nomination package:

  1. Nominate and confirm the applicant for admission in Slate
  2. Faculty Nomination Letter
  3. Financial Support Letter

For more instructions on how to nominate your students in Slate, see Graduate Admission's Slate User Guide for Nominating Students in the Fellowship Workflow

Note: When nominating students for the Katzin Prize in Slate, use the Fellowship - Department Nomination Form and Letter material type. See screenshot below:


There will be two deadlines. Programs will be notified of successful candidates within two weeks and will be expected to make efforts to encourage the student to commit to UC San Diego in a timely fashion.

Results 2020

The following information was sent to the Graduate Coordinators and Graduate Chair listserv.

From: fsu-director <fsu-director@UCSD.EDU>
Date: Friday, March 13, 2020 at 11:33 AM
To: fsu-director <fsu-director@UCSD.EDU>, "" <>, "" <>
Cc: Graduate Fellowship Advisor <>
Subject: Re: [Gradcoords-l] Re: Call for Nominations: The Katzin Prize 2020-2021

Hello – 

Thank you to all who nominated a student for the Katzin Prize.

Second round recipients are:


Prospective Student

Department or Program

Albelo, Isabel Victoria

Material Science

Beeman, Maxine

Structural Engineering

Bhaya-Grossman, Ilina Ariel Ariel Maresa

Cognitive Science

Boyce, Veronica

Experimental Psychology

Corno, Giulia Valentina

Political Science

Joslin, Kevin Michael

Mechanical Engineering

Kinney, John William


Lipkowitz, Gabriel

Material Science

Liu, Xingyu

Experimental Psychology

Pascual, Christian B


Sankar, Maya Ratnam


Struthers-Young, Anthony


Trautman, David Albert

Education (Ph.D.)

Van Geen, Camilla Maria Francesca

Cognitive Science

Weldon, Benjamin William

Structural Engineering

First Round Recipients include:

Prospective Student

Department or Program

Corno, Giulia Valentina

Political Science

Huynh, Victoria

Ethnic Studies

Ma, Yue


Mun, Evan Tyler

Chem & Biochem

Rana, Yash


In the event that fewer than 5 of these prospective students accept admission, we will make additional offers. We will keep you posted, and thanks to all who made nominations.

All recipients have been notified via Slate.