Dear STEM Deans, Chairs, and Coordinators,


I am delighted to announce that the Graduate Division will again be accepting nominations for the Schmidt Science Fellows program. I invite you to nominate your soon-to-be and newest Ph.D. alumni for this exciting program. Please help us assemble an outstanding group of nominees with both disciplinary and demographic diversity, by nominating your top students for this program by May 4th, 2022. UC San Diego will nominate 7 applicants to represent the university. 

About

The goal of the program aims to develop the next generation of science leaders to transcend disciplines, advance discovery, and solve the world’s most pressing problems. Schmidt Science Fellows are expected to be future leaders and should demonstrate a keen interest in harnessing interdisciplinarity and interaction with wider society to accelerate discovery to achieve global impact. Fellows will be supported by the program to undertake a full-time, postdoctoral study for at least one year in a world-leading laboratory in a field different from their existing area of expertise.

More about Schmidt Science Fellows Program: https://schmidtsciencefellows.org/overview/

Award Details

Eligibility

Evaluation Criteria

Intellect

Programmatic Fit

Leadership

To learn more about the kind of Fellows we are looking for, please visit our website. In particular, we recommend you view our Fellow profiles at https://schmidtsciencefellows.org/fellows/ and the feature video on ‘What Makes a Schmidt Science Fellow?’

Informational Webinars

Schmidt Science Fellows – Online Session for Prospective Candidates

Webinar 1 

Date: 25th April 2022

Time: 9:00 PDT / 12:00 EDT / 17:00 BST / 18:00 CEST / 01:00 (+1) KST / 02:00 (+1) AEST

Register here  (ideal for an audience based in North/South America and Europe)


Webinar 2 

Date: 26th April 2022

Time: 01:00 PDT / 04:00 EDT / 09:00 BST / 10:00 CEST / 17:00 KST / 18:00 AEST 

Register here (ideal for an audience based in Europe, Asia, Africa, and Oceania)


Webinar 3

Date: 26th April 2022

Time: 07:00 PDT / 10:00 EDT / 15:00 BST / 16:00 CEST / 23:00 KST / 00:00 (+1) AEST 

Register here (ideal for an audience based in North/South America, Europe and Africa)


For those who are unable to attend any of the sessions, the presentation (including the accompanying Q&A) will be made available on our website after the event.


Nominations

There is no limit for nominees a department may put forward. Please include the following:

Upload nomination materials here:

This is the information that will be requested in the Google Form: UC San Diego: Schmidt Science Fellows Nomination Form.pdf

For additional information, please see visit the Schmidt Science Fellows’ website.

More information about the selection process and timeline: https://schmidtsciencefellows.org/selection/

If you have any questions please send an email to gradadvisor@ucsd.edu which will create a support ticket.

Deadlines

UCSD Nominations Due no later than May 4th, 2022. 

Selected Nominees

If your student is selected as an institutional nominee, they will receive a code from Graduate Division. They will be required to use their code to initiate their application and supply contact details and other preliminary information beginning May 13,2022 - June 1, 2022. Candidates will then have until July 18, 2022 to complete their full application. An extensive timeline can be found here

Past Recipients

Visit Schmidt Science Fellows Program Fellows Page to see past recipients. 

Read more about UC San Diego's 2020 recipient.

Source: https://schmidtsciencefellows.org/fellow/fernando-soto/