Collab has been migrated to Please do not make any edits in this site. Find out more.
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 16 Next »


Each year, the Western Association of Graduate Schools (WAGS) partners with ProQuest to solicit nominees in four award categories. This prestigious regional competition is an important opportunity for your institution to showcase innovation and creativity by your graduate students. WAGS member institutions may only submit one nomination for each of the award categories. We encourage you to take the time to prepare a nomination for any of the four awards.


Innovation in Technology
  • This award recognizes the innovative application of technology to scholarship, as shown in the research supporting either a master’s thesis or a doctoral dissertation. 
  • Innovation in Technology Award.pdf

Award Details

The 2021-2022 recipient for each award will receive $1,000, a Certificate of Award, and travel expenses for the recipient to attend the WAGS Annual Conference and Awards luncheon to be held in Denver, Colorado on March 20-23, 2022.


  • Nominees must have successfully defended and submitted the final copy of their thesis or dissertation towards the master’s or doctoral degree within the period of July 1, 2020, through June 30, 2021
  • Nominees must be from a WAGS member institution (UC San Diego is a member institution)
  • Check specific award type for additional eligibility requirements

Evaluation Criteria

  • Originality of the study
  • Scope and significance of the study
  • Contribution to the discipline and/or profession
  • Overall quality of the summary and abstract of the thesis or dissertation


  • Graduate Departments/Programs can each submit up to two nominations for each award ( to be confirmed)
  • All nominations must be submitted to the UC San Diego WAGS Applicant Intake Form for Graduate Students no later than August 25, 2021 at 5:00 p.m PST.
  • The Graduate Division will review all submissions and select one application to nominate for each award category. (to be confirmed)
  • Each WAGS member institution may submit only one nomination for each of the four award Categories.  
  • Awards will be determined by WAGS in December 2021. 


The submission deadline for all nominations is August 25, 2021 at 5:00 p.m. PST.

Past Recipients

List coming soon!

  • No labels