Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Call for Nominations


Davis/Noyes/Stacey Fellowships are provided from University endowment income and are generally awarded to continuing graduate students with special qualifications. Eligible students may receive a maximum of one quarter of resident tuition/fees per academic year. For Academic Year 2022-23 the maximum award is $5,794.66, however, award amounts vary depending upon the availability of funds. 


Students who meet the following criteria are eligible to be nominated:

  • Brython Davis Fund: Student whose parent is, or was, a regular member of either the United States Navy or Marine Corps.  Proof of eligibility must be provided.  Proof of eligibility includes a copy of a current military i.d. or a copy of military discharge papers and a copy of the student’s birth certificate.
  • La Verne Noyes Fund: Student who is a United States citizen who is a direct blood descendant of a United States Army or Navy World War I veteran, who served for at least four months prior to November 11, 1918, and whose military service was terminated by death or an honorable discharge.  Proof of eligibility must be provided.  Proof of eligibility includes a copy of proof of military service or discharge papers, and a description of the student’s relationship to the veteran.
  • Malcolm R. Stacey Memorial Fund:  Student who is of Jewish descent and has financial need.  Preference is given engineering students - specifically, aeronautical engineering.  Proof of eligibility must be provided.  Proof of eligibility includes a written statement from the student sharing that they are of Jewish descent and have financial need. Admissions essays that include this information are acceptable.

Previous awardees are eligible for renewed support; however, priority will be given to those not previously funded by these endowments. Eligible students must be re-nominated for subsequent years of funding.


This year the students' sensitive documents such as DD-214, Birth Certificates, etc. shall be provided to and validated by nominator. 

After careful review we realize a student who is eligible may submit for all three individual fellowships, however the student can only be awarded one fellowship per academic year.

Please submit a separate Nomination Form for each nominee/award (Single Sign-On is required) and upload all required supporting documentation as a single .pdf file at the end of the Google form. Questions about eligibility can be directed to

Please note students are not permitted to "self nominate".


Nominations for 2022-23 are due on July 27,2022,          . 

Past Recipients


Fellowship RecipientFellowshipNominee Academic Home Department
Alexander BraddockBrython Davis FellowshipChemistry & Biochemistry
Alicia RomeroBrython Davis FellowshipUCSD Division of Biological Sciences
Christian PelayoBrython Davis FellowshipScripps Institution of Oceanography
Joshua BaumgartBrython Davis FellowshipBiomedical Sciences
Joshua SavageBrython Davis FellowshipChemistry & Biochemistry
Peter BerubeBrython Davis FellowshipBiological Sciences
Seth PattonBrython Davis FellowshipSchool of Global Policy and Strategy
Steven BeardsleyBrython Davis FellowshipLiterature
Summer BalesBrython Davis FellowshipSchool of Global Policy and Strategy
Timothy ShawBrython Davis FellowshipBiological Sciences
Aileen ButtonLa Verne Noyes FellowshipChemistry & Biochemistry
Hannah RutledgeLa Verne Noyes FellowshipChemistry & Biochemistry
Joseph RileyLa Verne Noyes FellowshipVisual Arts
Luke SanfordLa Verne Noyes FellowshipPolitical Science
Matthew EhrlichLa Verne Noyes FellowshipHistory
Matt ZaslanskyMalcolm R. Stacey Memorial FellowshipLinguistics
Nina SemushinaMalcolm R. Stacey Memorial FellowshipLinguistics
Sydney SmithMalcolm R. Stacey Memorial FellowshipNeurosciences Graduate Program
Wendy WagnerMalcolm R. Stacey Memorial FellowshipPolitical Science
  • No labels